Hello

So I picked up the phone and HIGHLIGHTED your name,
it counted visually for me the lifetime of seconds you did not answer.

On the other end lies my heartbeat, my laughter-

a piece of my soul. 

So I exhale, holding onto this lifeline.

Watching the picture of you-seemingly smiling,

at me.

Knowing the last of that light is frozen,

in the muted frames of my cellphone screen.

Conversations of a life passed by seem to flash before me and 

I feel that quietness began to trickle down.  

I am having coversations with the memory of you and 

realize the Hello I am responding to is not real.

Hearing the tones of your voice recite such familiar words 

leaves me talking to the space between us.

JDJ
Votes?  Comments?

Leave a Reply

