Listen please

There is a fight inside me, I am struggling to control that pull to run.  I am fighting for unknown reasons, fighting a past that forcefully is trying to shape the present. 

It is no longer a reason in the present, because change has come.  Forgiveness has laid waste to anger, so I am looking at you in compassion. 

We can hold hands, make love, and talk all night about how bright the future may be.  Yet, as long as you live in the past our future will remain unattainable. 

I am yelling to be heard and you cover your ears like a child.  I am on my knees and your back is turned.  So I stay on my knees and pray.  You need not know that I am praying for you.  For the peace in your mind to return, for the strength of your weary soul to manifest again. 

I never stopped believing in you, I just stopped listening; then you stopped listening to me.  Now I have let go of youthful pride, I can hear your words, your heart.

Can you, will you hear mine?

Leave a Reply

